Preparation (see: Procrastination)

I start my job this coming Monday. That means summer is coming to an end; the life of waking up and doing whatever I want (so sue me if I get up at 6:45 to run, go to yoga, and the farmers market before lunch…) is slowly crawling to an end. In a week I’ll have 6-8 hours scheduled.  I’m really quite stoked to start my job seeing as I’ll be teaching in Seoul. Really, my life is about to encounter a huge shift in place, culture, activity, employment, and cuisine.

I’m really excited about this change, just worried about the remaining preparations. The thing is, I’m a procrastinator. If you were to take a look at my “To Do” list, it’d look a little like this: learn Korean, pack up my life for a year, get my visa, get acquainted with my teaching materials, say “peace out girl scout” to America for a while.  A little much, given I leave in four days.

But I just can’t get myself to stop procrastinating. I’m on top of all the documents I have to send across the world and the meetings I have to make in the Manhattan Korean Embassy. But as far as me really preparing, well, I’m procrastinating.

It’s been a problem of mine for a while. I procrastinated essays to write and books to read and labs to prepare, finding gifts for birthdays and holidays, and getting plane tickets. I especially procrastinate cooking preparations. Whenever I read in a recipe “this can be prepared a day in advance” I chuckle and reply “or twenty minutes before dinner…” Maybe that’s why my last strawberry rhubarb pie looked more like strawberry soup and not pie filling. “Cooling time.” I don’t have time for “cooling.”

But with these last four days, I figured, why not really prepare a meal? Maybe it’ll help my overall procrastination. After going to the farmers market outside of Borough Hall in Brooklyn Heights after 7am yoga, I came back to the apartment with a vision: chilled sautéed greens and stuffed squash.

And my plan worked! I made the greens around 1pm to let them chill for a few hours. The quinoa is made, waiting for the squash, tomatoes, oil, salt, pepper, garlic to be baked in the oven for 40 minutes at 350. The feta and cucumbers are chilling, waiting to top the whole meal off and a bottle of wine is chilling. Maybe if I tried this whole preparing thing earlier, I might not have had to stress so much at 6am while writing a 20-page paper. Eh, but where’s the fun in that?

Ps here’s the recipe for the Chilled Sauteed Spicy Greens (quantities are always up in the air)

10 Leaves of Red Swiss Chard

Olive Oil

2 Cloves of Garlic

1/2 Red Onion

Scoop of Butter

Salt, Pepper, Cayenne Pepper, Szechan Peppercorns (see picture below)

Throw the oil, salt, pepper, garlic, and onions in the pan and heat it up over medium heat for about 3 minutes. Add the butter and cayenne and peppercorns and heat again, for about 3 minutes. Throw the Swiss Chard in and cook for 5-7 minutes. The SC is going to shrink a bunch. Then throw it in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours to let sit and chill out.

4 thoughts on “Preparation (see: Procrastination)

  1. let me just say from personal experience as a procrastinator, the one thing you do not want to procrastinate on is packing for a move. i always do, and it always bites me in the ass. so make sure you have all the warm clothes you need on the bottom of your suitcase, and then finish packing, and then procrastinate everything else.

    love,
    kate

  2. I think many of us suffer from procrastination–you will learn when you can and when it causes real problems!!! Keep writing –love to read your posts.

Leave a Reply

